LMMP researchers participated of the COBEM 2015, held in Rio de Janeiro in December 2015.    

COBEM 2015

LMMP researchers participated in the V Workshop in Microfluidics, held in Campinas (Sao Paulo, Brazil) in July 2015.     Debora Freitas and Jorge Avendano presented at the poster session.    

V Workshop in Microfluidics

LMMP researchers and Prof. Carvalho participated in the BCR 2015     Prof. Carvalho presenting.     Nicolle Lima presented her work: “Pore-scale analysis of oil displacement by polymer solution”

BCR 2015 – VII Brazilian Conference on Rheology

Researchers from LMMP attended the "The Geilo School" 2015.   The objective of this School is to bring together researchers with various interests and background in fields like soft matter science, complex matter physics, biological physics, mechanical or chemical engineering. The focus of the School is synergism between modern science and […]

“The Geilo School” 2015

Eric Vandre University of Minnesota Citation: “Onset of Dynamics Wetting Failure: The Mechanics of High-speed Fluid Displacement.” Background: Eric Vandre received a Bachelor’s degree in Chemical Engineering from the University of Minnesota in 2008. As an undergraduate, he was awarded the George W. Taylor Foundation scholarship for 4-year full support, […]

Eric Vandre was the 2014 Andreas Acrivos Dissertation Award in ...

Prof. Marcio Carvalho and Jon Otto Fossum organized the 3rd International Workshop on Complex Physical Phenomena in Materials that was held in PUC-Rio from Feb 18-21.  The workshop featured severa invited speakers on flow and dynamics of soft and complex multicomponent fluids. Click here to access Workshop homepage.  

CPPM 2014

Simone Bochner received the Oscar Niemeyer Award for her final undergraduate project on Liquid Displacement in Annular Spaces.  The developement led to a software that is used to design well cementing operations.  

Simone Bochner received the Oscar Niemeyer Award